Creating Beetles


Green Beatles print

Beetles print

Yesterday I read some sites about earth day and about doing something to celebrate the day.  I decided to use some of the organic fair trade cotton I have to make something and give it away on my blog.  As it’s for earth day I took inspiration from my walks by the river this weekend and decided to feature the Tansy beetle which lives along the river.

I always find drawing from life interesting, observing how creatures move and their foibles leads me to a more creative picture then if I just drew a standard image.  After doing some pencil sketches and looking at the photographs I drew the image I used for the prints.  I chose that picture because I thought it looked more dynamic then the others.  It takes some consideration to make a sketch suitable for printing as it’s the places where the ink doesn’t appear as much as where  does.  Once I’d sorted this out I printing the beetles in green with gold highlights.   Hopefully I’ll have finished sewing by tomorrow and then I can start my first giveaway.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie b
    May 11, 2011 @ 01:13:26

    I looked this up after receiving the bag to remind myself about how you made the fabric. I think it’s the gold highlights that make the fabric extra special, and the almost animated look of the various tansy beetles roving around the fabric!

    Reply

  2. Alasdair Stuart
    May 11, 2011 @ 21:38:12

    I know what you mean, Julie:) I love how the different angles the beetles are at makes it look like they’re milling around.

    Reply

Leave a comment